Erik Sandewall at Linköping University was awarded the 2016 IJCAI Distinguished Service Award


The IJCAI Distinguished Service Award was established in 1979 by the IJCAI Trustees to honor senior scientists in AI for contributions and service to the field during their careers. Previous recipients have been Bernard Meltzer (1979), Arthur Samuel (1983), Donald Walker (1989), Woodrow Bledsoe (1991), Daniel G. Bobrow (1993), Wolfgang Bibel (1999), Barbara Grosz (2001), Alan Bundy (2003), Raj Reddy (2005), Ronald J. Brachman (2007), Luigia Carlucci Aiello (2009), Raymond C. Perrault (2011), Wolfgang Wahlster (2013) and Anthony G. Cohn (2015).

At the 25th International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence, IJCAI-16, the Donald E. Walker Distinguished Service Award was given to Erik Sandewall, Professor of Computer Science (retired) at the Department of Computer and Information Science at Linköping University. Professor Sandewall is recognized for his substantial contributions, as well as his extensive service to the field of Artificial Intelligence throughout his career. He is one of the founders of IJCAI and he served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Artificial Intelligence Journal for many years and made significant contributions to the success of the journal and to the wider dissemination of AI into the scientific community.


Links to read more about Erik Sandewall’s work:

Related Links:



This entry was posted in Artificial Intelligence, Erik Sandewall, IDA - Department of Computer and Information Science, IJCAI-16, Linköping University, Sweden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.